Navigation

News & Calendars

Headlines & Happenings

Visitation Remembers: Emancipation Day 2019

On April 16, 1862, 12 men, women, and children who had been enslaved by the Sisters of the Visitation were emancipated when President Abraham Lincoln and representatives in Congress liberated over 3,100 people enslaved in the District of Columbia. On the anniversary of that day, the Visitation community came together to remember those 12 individuals and pray the Stations of the Cross, reflecting on the Lenten message of remembrance.

Meet John Whittaker

Religion teacher John Whittaker is passionate about three things: educating his students, planning his wedding, and Notre Dame, his alma mater. He believes teaching is “the most noble profession there is,” which drew him to education after receiving an M.A. in theology. Teaching religion to sophomores and juniors, he guides students through topics like the feminine genius, immigration, the death penalty, and more.

Students Advocate for Refugees on Capitol Hill

Juniors Rosie McLaughlin, Reilly Talbot, and Katie Troxell headed to Capitol Hill last week with religion teacher Eileen Hudson '78 as part of their Praxis project on the refugee crisis in the United States. While working on Praxis projects, a part of the Religion III curriculum, students develop research-based solutions to social injustices; they educate their peers about an issue of their choice and learn how to advocate for change.

News Search

Date Range
-

Calendar of Events

SLAM
-
Faculty Lounge
Track & Field vs. NCS Invite (Away)
NCS Invite
Easter Sunday
all day
Easter Monday (No School)
all day
Varsity Lacrosse vs. Garden City High School (Home)
McNabb Field
Classes Resume
all day

Date Picker

April 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Mar 31
Mon, Apr 1
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 9
Wed, Apr 10
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
Tue, Apr 16
Wed, Apr 17
Thu, Apr 18
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 22
Tue, Apr 23
Wed, Apr 24
Thu, Apr 25
Fri, Apr 26
Sat, Apr 27
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4

Choose Your Calendar

  • Athletics Team Calendars

Search a Calendar

Results will show at top of calendar list.
Date Range
-